The Abura-Asebu-Kwamankese District is one of the twenty-two (22) districts in the Central Region. It was carved out in 1988 from the erstwhile Mfantseman District Council. Abura Dunkwa is the District Capital. It is made up of three paramouncies namely Asebu, Abura, and Kwamankese.  The District shares boundary with Twifo-Heman-Lower Denkyira Districts on the west, Assin South District on the north and with Mfantseman District on the east. On the south western part, the district is boarded by Cape Coast Metropolitan, and the Gulf of Guinea at the South eastern part.


The District has an estimated land area of about 380km2, 376 settlements and estimated Population as at 2021 of 142,920 (Projection from year 2010 housing and population census).

As a one constituency district, the Assembly has eight (8) sub-structures (One Urban, One Town and Six Area Councils). There are Thirty-one Electoral Areas with total composition of Forty-four Assembly Members.